# Board of Directors Meeting Minutes Riverview Charter School January 10, 2022 6:00pm, Riverview/Zoom

**Mission:** Riverview Charter School's mission is to create a small, diverse learning community that actively engages students in meaningful and innovative learning experiences. Emphasizing "learning by doing," family and community involvement, and engaged citizenship, Riverview is committed to nurturing the whole child and preparing each student for a global society.

### **Members Present:**

Jonathan Sullivan, Trey Rivers, MJ Simmons, Carol Smalls-Jenkins, Reece Bertholf, Lamarr Cooler, Kimberly Dudas, Vincent Brennan, Leigh Copeland, Lauren Kelly, Austin Major Leadership Team Present: Rob Bechtold, Liz O'Brien, Jenna Gow, Karen Miller, Erica Freeman, AK Harper Public Present:

1 participant via Zoom.

## **Call to Order**

Meeting called to order at 6:06p.

Approval of the agenda. Lamaar Cooler moves to approve the agenda. Jonathan Sullivan seconds the motion. Unanimous approval of the agenda.

#### **Public Session**

We are in compliance with the Freedom of Information Act. Staff, parents, RCS community at large, BCSD, and news outlets notified of the meeting via email at noon on January 7, 2022. Notice posted to school at noon on January 7, 2022.

#### **Public Comment: Starr Hayes**

Welcome new board members.

Board Executive Committee Election:

**Chair:** MJ Simmons nominates Reece Bertholf. Jonathan Sullivan makes the motion of approval and Vince Brennan. Unanimous approval.

**Vice Chairman:** Lamarr Cooler nominates MJ Simmons and Jonathan Sullivan seconds the motion. Unanimous approval.

**Treasurer:** Vince Brennan makes a motion to nominate Lamarr Cooler. Lauren Kelly seconds the motion. Unanimous approval.

**Secretary:** MJ Simmons makes a motion to nominate Leigh Copeland and Lamarr Cooler seconds the motion. Unanimous approval.

Officers for the 2022 Board of Directors were nominated and elected in compliance with requirements under the Freedom of Information Act. Those elected to serve for 2022 are as follows:

Chair: Reece Bertholf

Vice-Chair: MJ Simmons

Treasurer: Lamaar Cooler

Secretary: Leigh Copeland

Vince Brennan moves to approve the Executive Committee Officers, Lauren Kelly seconds the motion. Unanimous approval of the officers.

### **Director's Report:**

Board Retreat dates will be sent out and voted on for a weekend in February. Regularly scheduled meetings will continue on the third Thursday of each month at 6:00p.

# **Next Board Meeting**

March 17, 2022 6:00p

## Adjourn

Lamaar Cooler makes a motion to adjourn the meeting. Lauren Kelly seconds the motion with unanimous approval. Meeting adjourned at 6:35p.